Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook

Announcing Winners of 2013 #Nifty50 Top Twitter Men Writers!

327 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 220 Google+ 33 LinkedIn 74 327 Flares ×

NiftyFifty_2013_Writers_Images_Men_FINAL_RD_201200822

In 2011, I teamed up with Tom Pick (@TomPick) and his Webbiquity blog to unveil the first annual #Nifty50 Awards. Our goal in designing these awards was to honor the top 50 women and top 50 men in social media. In that first year, we cast a wide net, honoring those whom we felt actively engaged as brand ambassadors on Twitter day in day out, exchanging valuable information, and just generally being good, helpful people. Last year, we narrowed our focus to honor the top 50 men and top 50 women engaging on Twitter on behalf of the tech sector.

This year, we wanted to target a specific group once again, and so we agreed to honor the top bloggers, authors, PR specialists, and journalists on Twitter. After reviewing all of your wonderful nominations over the summer, it’s now time to unveil the winners!

Now that Tom and I have compiled our lists, the word that keeps popping into my head is “community.” This isn’t just a list of 50 men who work in isolation; these are people who share strong social bonds with each other, who would be just as happy to celebrate the success of one of their colleagues as they would be for themselves. These thought leaders understand that the greatest product of a good idea is more good ideas, and it’s great to see that their generosity and thought leadership in online communities is being recognized.

I’m happy to say that I have had the privilege of experiencing this generosity firsthand. As we were writing our book The Social Employee: How Great Companies Make Social Media Work – Success Lessons from IBM, AT&T, Dell, Cisco, Southwest Airlines, Adobe, and Domo on building a Social Culture (McGraw-Hill, August 2013) (@SocialEmployeelate last year and early this year, we were honored to receive excellent contributions from people like Vala Afshar (@ValaAfshar), David Armano, (@Armano) David C. Edelman (@DavidEdelman), and Kevin Randall (@kevinbrandall) —just to name a few. These wonderful wordsmiths truly enlivened our own content, and we couldn’t be happier to see them make this list.

So without further ado, here are the 2013 #Nifty50 Men! Feel free to celebrate their achievement by dropping them a line on Twitter, and don’t forget to check out the Webbiquity blog for the 2013 #Nifty50 Women!

Vala Afshar @ValaAfshar

Vala Afshar

David Armano @armano

David Armano

Jonathan Becher @jbecher

Jonathan Becher

Sander Biehn @sanderbiehn

Sander Biehn

Michael Brenner @BrennerMichael

Michael Brenner

David Brier @davidbrier

David Brier

Michael Brito @Britopian

Michael Brito

Terry Brock @TerryBrock

Terry Brock @TerryBrock

Mark Burgess @mnburgess

Mark Burgess

Chris Carragher @cjcarragher

Chris_Carragher_N

Dan Cristo @dancristo

Dan Cristo

Dino Dogan @dinodogan

Dino Dogan

Mike Edelhart @MikeEdelhart

Mike Edelhart

David Edelman @davidedelman

David Edelman

Mark Fidelman @markfidelman

Mark Fidelman

Sam Fiorella @samfiorella

Sam Fiorella

Jez Frampton @jezframpton

Jez Frampton

Nis Frome @nisfrome

Nis Frome

Sean Gardner @2morrowknight

Sean Gardner

Glen Gilmore @GlenGilmore

Glen Gilmore

Andrew Grill @AndrewGrill

Andrew Grill

John Hagel @jhagel

John Hagel

Arik Hanson @arikhanson

Arik Hanson

Kent Huffman @KentHuffman

Kent Huffman

John L. Kennedy @johnlkennedy

nifty50_Kennedy.fw

Jure Klepic @jkcallas

Jure Kelpic

Bryan Kramer @bryankramer

Bryan Kramer

Simon Mainwaring @simonmainwaring

Simon Mainwaring

TJ McCue @TJMcCue

Nifty50 TJ McCue.fw

Billy Mitchell @billymitchell1

Billy Mitchell

Jacob Morgan @jacobm

Jacob Morgan

Tom Peters @tom_peters

Tom Peters

Howard Pyle @howardpyle

Howard Pyle

 Erik Qualman @equalman

Eric Qualman

Ajay Ramachandran @ajay

Ajay Ramachandran

Andreas Ramos @Andreas_Ramos

Andreas Ramos

Kevin Randall @KevinBrandall

Kevin Randall

Ron Ricci @RonRicciCisco

Ron Ricci

Tony Riches @tonyriches

Tony Riches

Alex Romanovich @alexromanovich

Alex Romanovich

Ted Rubin @TedRubin

Ted Rubin

Neal Schaffer @NealSchaffer

Neal Schaffer

Dan Schawbel @DanSchawbel

Dan Schwbel

Gary Schirr @ProfessorGary

Gary Schirr

Brian Slattery @BrianSlatts

BrianSlatts.fw

Andy Smith @kabbenbock

Andy Smith

Brian Solis @briansolis

Brian Solis

Bill Strawderman @marketingbard

Bill Strawderman

 Todd Wilms @toddmwilms

Todd Wilms

Tony Zambito @TonyZambito

Tony Zambito

Nifty50_2013_Writers_Images_WOMEN_FINAL_RD_FINAL_2012822

Posted by on Oct 29, 2013 in #Nifty50, Branding, Employee Branding, Social Executive, Social Media Community, Social Media Marketing | 12 comments

Bio

Cheryl Burgess
Cheryl Burgess (@ckburgess) helps clients transform their brands from the inside out by implementing strategic social business initiatives that empower social employee engagement and advocacy, and social executive leadership. She is the co-author of best selling book, The Social Employee, (McGraw-Hill, 2013) that includes success stories from IBM, AT&T, Dell, Cisco, Southwest Airlines, and Adobe, hailed by management guru, Tom Peters as his favorite #1 social business book. Burgess is a special advisory board member for The Economist Intelligence Unit, research arm of The Economist Group. She is listed as “Forbes Top 5 Influential CMOs” - 2014, “Top 40 Social Selling Marketing Masters”; Forbes “Must-Follow Marketing Minds – 2014”; #7 Top CMOs on Twitter, and named by Huffington Post as a social media “Passionista.” She is a contributor to Harvard Business Review - Italia, and expert blogger for CEO.com and CMO.com. Cheryl is a regular speaker at industry events, most recently at Social Business Forum 2014 – Milan, Italy, IBM Connect 2014, Dell World 2013 & 2014, Integrated Marketing Week NYC -2014, Pivotcon - NYC, Rutgers Business School, AT&T, and KPMG. She is a contributor to the Wharton Future of Advertising 2020. Her company’s blog, Blue Focus Marketing®, won the MarketingSherpa 2012 Reader’s Choice Award for Best Social Media Marketing Blog. She is the winner of five Twitter Shorty Awards in Marketing. In 2011, she co-founded the #Nifty50 Top Men & Women on Twitter Awards. Follow her on Twitter at @ckburgess, @SocialEmployee and @BlueFocus. Google+

12 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for including me in this great list. I follow most of these guys so I know how great it is to be mentioned in the same list with them. I will immediately start following the ones on the list I’m not following now. That’s the great thing about carefully curated lists like this. Thanks again!!

    • Hi Billy,

      Thank you so much! It’s an honor to include you on our 2013 #Nifty50 list.

      Best,
      Cheryl

  2. Wow what a fantastic list – i know two personally Todd Wilms, Neal Schaffer and I know the others socially online and rubbed elbows with Brian Solis. All the men are humble yet exert Leadership styles that speak to a diverse crowd and are so generous with their knowledge sans ego. Great list and congrats to each one – well deserved.

    • Hi Ana,

      Thanks so much for your kind comments and we are very pleased you “Like” our list.

      Have a wonderful day.
      Best,
      Cheryl

  3. What an honor! Almost everyone on this list has done me a kind turn and I hope to pay them back!

    • Hi Erik,

      You’re most kind and generous. Did you know your videos inspired me to create our book trailer videos? We hope to release our fourth book trailer video in mid December, “Are you a Social Executive?” As you know, our book title is “The Social Employee”, but one of my favorite chapters is “How Social Executives Drive Brand Value” – Chapter 12. When I co-founded #Nifty50 in 2011 with Tom Pick, I never expected to write a book two years later with my co-author Mark Burgess (@mnburgess).

      You inspire others by your great accomplishments.

      Warmest,
      Cheryl

  4. Great list, Cheryl! I have something to shoot for in 2014 :)

    • Hi Steve,

      Tom and I are still undecided about next year’s #Nifty50 category! Every each we select a new category, 1st year it was general – open to everyone, second year it was technology, and this year it’s writers!

      Stay close!
      Best,
      Cheryl

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Now Posted on @BlueFocus: #Nifty50 Top Twitter Women Writers Award by @TomPick and @CKBurgess | Blue Focus Marketing - […] year, the #Nifty50 awards honor 50 men and 50 women who actively engage on Twitter. 2011 was the inaugural …
  2. A Special Thank You to @Tom_Peters | Blue Focus Marketing - […] all started in late October with our announcement that Peters had been named as one of our 2013 #Nifty50 …
  3. Book Review: The Social Employee (@SocialEmployee) by @TomPick #socbiz #IBM #Cisco #Dell | Blue Focus Marketing - […] to have worked with Cheryl Burgess for the past three years honoring the #Nifty50 top women and men on …

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

327 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 220 Google+ 33 LinkedIn 74 327 Flares ×